ENVIRONMENT SECTOR IN THE GOVERNMENT

A council for environment protection was formed in 21 May 1984 under "Ministry of Home Affairs and Social Services". The main objective of the council was to advice the government on environmental issues, particularly environmental impacts associated with developmental projects.

- 1. Minister of Home Affairs and Social Services Honourable Umar Zahir
- 2. Executive Secretary of the President Mr. Abdul Rasheed Hussain
- 3. Director General of Department of Tourism Mr. Ahmed Zahir
- 4. Director General of Ministry of Health Services Dr. Abdul Samad Abdullah
- 5. Senior Under-Secretary of Ministry of Education Mr. Abdullah Rasheed
- 6. Senior Under-Secretary of Ministry of Atolls Administration Mr. Abdul Hameedh Ahmed Didi
- 7. Senior Under- Secretary of Ministry of Agriculture Mr. Abdul Aziz Abdul Hakeem
- 8. Deputy Director of "Dhivehi Raajjeyge Adu" Mr. Ibrahim Manik
- 9. Senior Under-Secretary of Ministry of Transport and Shipping Mr. Ahmed Shareef
- 10. Lawyer of Ministry of Planning and Development Mohamed Saeedh
- 11. Senior Fisheries Development Officer of Ministry of Fisheries Mr. Maizaan Hassan Manik
- 12. Lawyer of Ministry of Defence and National Security Mr. Ibrahim Mohamed Manik

1986. ENVIRONMENT SECTION WAS FORMED

On 14th January 1987, the post of Environment Officer was created and Mr. Mohamed Zahir was assigned as the first environment officer.

The responsibilities of this post included:

- Monitor and report coastal waves
- Make environmental reports by gathering, monitoring and analysing environmental data
- Coordinate and monitor environmental awareness programmes
- Conduct environment related surveys
- Promote environmental awareness among the public

1988. MINISTRY STATUS FOR ENVIRONMENT

"Ministry of Planning and Environment" was formed with the expansion of environment related works.

